7 Comments

Pet Peeve #3: Say What?!?!: Kids Speaking Out of Turn


Spank that ****

Hello World!

Whipping, especially the braided switch technique, seems to be a lost art form.

Let’s address the talking back phenomenon.

My blood boileth over just typing this out on the screen … I CANNOT STAND A CHILD WHO TALKS BACK (AND OUT OF TURN)! I call it a phenomenon because, although I’m young, it was a highly unlikely occurrence in my day, and in the days of my fore-parents. When I was a child, talking back was the biggest taboo; you didn’t respond when your mother or grandmother was talking AT you.

I don’t care how mad their accusations or tone made you, you simply did not speak up. Your grandmother could have said you bit your sister’s finger clean off to everyone who walked through her doors, when clearly it was only a surface scratch to the skin. What would you have done? Hung your head, and cry if you must, but no sound in the form of a rebuttal EVER escaped your lips.

Oh, but if it did! Goodness, you would have been stretched out in one swift motion, or your body parts would have been stinging from the swipe of those braided switches! Now, that was how you put a child in check.

Where did the grandmas and mamas who knew rules, regulations, and home-training go? Where are the elders who don’t allow children to run buck? Somewhere along the way the grandmas passed, or, God-forbid, stopped caring, and in turn their daughters did not learn the proper protocol of when to control their outbursts. This eventually led to those daughters having sons and daughters of their own who are rude, disrespectful, and couldn’t guard their tongues in the presence of their elders if they tried. A DAMN SHAME!

Mothers teach your children how to behave in AND out of your presence. I’m a grown woman, and to this day I still think twice about doing things which I know my mother would disapprove of–like putting my feet up on furniture, even if it is an outdoor bench! Furthermore, my mother lives 2hrs away from me,and I am sure she could never sneak up on me and witness me doing anything that would shame her, but still I can hear her voice in my head when I am about to do something that I know she didn’t raise me to do.

That, to me, is good parenting! And my mom didn’t even have to really put her hands on me. She gave me THE LOOK, and I sat my happy-tail down somewhere.

These kids today? Try to tell them something as simple as “pick up that shoe, and take it in the other room.” The response will be a very loud and dramatized, “IT AIN’T MINE! UGH, I DIDN’T PUT IT THERE!” Whoa, whoa, whoa. When did this become okay?!

I can’t take it anymore. The next child that talks back to me or buck his/her eyes, or roll that neck, or scream a response: I will lose it. No, seriously, LOSE IT. Let’s hope your child is not that one. …

\”I Still Believe\” by Lyfe Jennings

Peace, Blessings, and Prosperity!

7 comments on “Pet Peeve #3: Say What?!?!: Kids Speaking Out of Turn

  1. This web page won’t render appropriately on my i phone – you may want to try and repair that

    Like

  2. GREAT REVIEW! I pretty much agree with pretty much all you said in your article, especially at the end of your article. Thank you, this info is very valuable as always. Keep up the good work! You’ve got +1 more reader of your super blog:) Isabella S.

    Like

  3. […] Pet Peeve #3: Say What?!?!: Kids Speaking Out of Turn (via The Ramblings of an Intellectual Sistah) Hello World! Whipping, especially the braided switch technique, seems to be a lost art form. Let's address the talking back phenomenon. My blood boileth over just typing this out on the screen … I CANNOT STAND A CHILD WHO TALKS BACK (AND OUT OF TURN)! I call it a phenomenon because, although I'm young, it was a highly unlikely occurrence in my day, and in the days of my fore-parents. When I was a child, talking back was the biggest taboo; you d … Read More […]

    Like

  4. I am an 80s baby as well and I can definitely relate to “the look”. I have had my tail lit on fire as well. Just a few days ago I witnessed an eight year old respond to his mother with “What?” and then the talked back; saying “You guys are so talking so much I can’t h(ear the tv” of his reason why he had the television volume so loud. My mouth was on the floor and eyes wide as I turned to his mother to wait for her response.
    Which was pretty much nothing.Today even the slightest pop on the hand is child abuse. This world is not our world. Parents are allowing outsiders, people who are not even apart of the household or family whatsoever dictate discipline techniques. Like for example there is a country who is developing a law which makes it child abuse to raise your child in the religion you practice. The world is on its own path to self-destruction. And children disrespecting parents is one of many examples.

    Like

    • @CeCe: I can’t take this nonsense! I just can’t believe they are allowed to wild out like that. There’s absolutely minimal respect for any of their elders, let alone their guardians. You know it’s a sad day when a parent contemplates turning her child over to the system (detention) because she “can no longer do anything with” the child. SMH! Glad Grandma(s) aren’t physically here to witness this debauchery.

      Like

Leave a Reply

