Leave a comment

Be Alone: The Best Company … Ever!


Hello World!

I want to send a message to a particular type of person: the person who is afraid to do anything alone. How do you live your life with this mentality?? Seriously, I would like to know. It seems like you are your own biggest enemy. You can’t stand in your own way, that just doesn’t make any sense to me.

You want to see a movie? Treat yourself! Want to sight-see? Invite yourself! You don’t need a man or a “bestie” to do every little thing with you. I interpret this behavior as a blatant statement that you are not comfortable with yourself and, unfortunately, you don’t know how to be alone.

If you are unhappy alone, you will be unhappy in any type of relationship: your boo, your best friend, your significant other, etc. This is just a fact of life. Perhaps you are self-conscious about being out alone. Once you become comfortable with and confident in yourself, you can probably guess what’s coming next, your response to anyone who has a problem with you going solo will be: WHO GIVES A RAT’S BOTTOM! Haha, but really, you shouldn’t care what anyone says or thinks about you.

My advice is to take some time to get to know and enjoy your own company for a change. When I moved to Wisconsin by myself I had to go to many places alone. And, it was not as bad as it sounds (or may have looked to other self-conscious people). I went out to eat, to clubs, to shopping centers, to plays, on road trips all by myself! Guess what: I survived! Actually, I did more than that. I got to know myself, and I grew as a person. Now, I know that, if I ever need to, I can entertain myself without outside interference. You will learn to branch out and really cherish your “me-time.”

Hopefully, if you are one of the people who feel like you always need a sidekick in order to really enjoy events and activities, you will consider the things I have said. As I close, I will leave you with these endearing words from my mother: “You were born by yourself, and you will die by yourself!” (if you’re not a twin, that is:)

~Peace, Growth, and Prosperity~

Related Article:

http://talinorfali.wordpress.com/2011/12/02/you-are-special-never-forget-it/

Leave a Reply

