4 Comments

“Aah #%&$*!!” <That Ain’t Love, Boo


Ooo, baby, just to hear you speak
Makes me argue just to see
How much you’re in love with me
See, like a queen, a queen upon her throne

–Lauryn Hill “Sweetest Thing”

Hello World!

The above lyrics come from Her Majesty, Lauryn Hill; “Sweetest Thing” is a beautiful song, which I adore. However, I must not have fully listened to the lyrics, or at the very least, I missed the line “Makes me argue just to see/ how much you’re in love with me.” (*Record Scratch!*)

Whoa, wait a minute. That is NOT how you express or get someone else to express their love for you. It’s not even how you judge someone’s love for you! And you know what else, that is not the model of a Queen–it’s actually a very ratchet thing to do.

But it is the phenomenon of our day: Women and Men are going home (which is supposed to be a place of refuge from the external chaos) and creating dramatic scenes just to get passionate (anger is a form of passion) responses from their mate/significant other/spouse, etc. Is this not a problem??

Personally, I am a very peaceful person on the home front (now this doesn’t solely mean the house you share with your lover; I am using it in the sense of “home is where the heart is,” i.e., my boo is my home). Why in the world would I want to have a petty argument with someone I love, or care deeply for?

You’ll mess around and start a petty argument with me and it could be our last (LOL!). If you get my anger from 10 to 100, I will be mad for real while you’re playing; no amounts of sorry will work. But all you wanted was for me to show you that I love you? BS!

Ladies and gentlemen, stop with the petty arguments, please. Just tell your spouse what you need in order to feel the love, geez. Go easy on the drama. … Also, I don’t care who the song artist is, stop believing all that craziness. Fights and screams do not equate love. Yeah, I said it!

Peace, Blessings, & Growth!

4 comments on ““Aah #%&$*!!” <That Ain’t Love, Boo

  1. Some people are happy with a viotile relationship. Another song, “Break up to make up.” Some people like drama in their lives it makes their day.

    Like

    • I completely agree with you. Here’s my song response to such a crazy attitude: “Don’t Save Her [or him], she [he] don’t wanna be saved!” LOL. It’s a mess, really.

      We have to re-educate ourselves to what real love is, and how real love feels.

      Like

      • You ever have a girlfriend call you for help because her man is whooping her up. Or she runs to your house for help. You do what you can to help and if the police come and whip the man the woman cries foul. Or after she comes down and the man sober ups she goes home. I witnessed so much abuse and like you say don’t wanna be saved. I stay out of the relationships. Now I’ve had my share of abuse and didn’t like it. Just didn’t know how to get away.

        Like

Leave a Reply

